Two Amendments to the Constitution of the United States were ratified on this date.

In 1870 the 15th Amendment was ratified:

The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of race, color, or previous condition of servitude.

In 1913 the 16th Amendment was ratified:

The Congress shall have power to lay and collect taxes on incomes, from whatever source derived, without apportionment among the several States, and without regard to any census or enumeration.